**Union County Historical Society’s 1793 Dale House Sets Forth the History of Slavery and the Underground Railroad in Union County
BUFFALO TWP: Visit the Union County Historical Society’s 1793 Dale/Engle/Walker House this summer to explore a part of the area’s history that is not so well known, slavery in the North, as well as the better known, Underground Railroad. Learn about Dinah, who was a slave for many years, and the last male slave who may been “the face in the window” that used to draw visitors to the house.
The house was home to members of the Ulster-Scot Dales and at least two African-American slaves from 1793 through 1840. It was thought to have been a stop on the area’s Underground Railroad but that appears less likely now that serious research has revealed slave-holders there until just before Pennsylvania’s total abolition law of 1847.
In learning more about these aspects of our area’s history, both from the guide and from audio-stations in the house, visitors will be taken back in time over 217 years ago. Books on the Underground Railroad are on sale at the site and the recently published book: Samuel Dale (1741-1804): A Life and Estate in Union County is available as well. This publication has chapters on Dale, the house and its architecture, the 1804 library of Dale, and the role that slavery played there as well its supposed link to the UGRR.
A new book, African Americans in Union County: Slave and Free, by Bruce Teeple, Jeannette Lasansky, Sam Alcorn and Kate Hastings will be available next year. In the meantime, experience a setting where history was made. The house is open to the public every Sunday through October. Tours start at 2 PM and the last one at 3:30 PM.